Róisín Murphy

Artist / Band / Musician
Electronica / Disco House / Pop


Click the banner to preview all the album tracks online now!!

EMI Records is proud to present 'Overpowered', the second album from Róisín Murphy. A heady mix of electronic dance anthems, soul-stirring pop songs, deep, dark funk and quirky lyrical genius, 'Overpowered' is a thrilling and contemporary marriage of edgy pop and irresistible disco.

Róisín co-wrote and co-produced the entire album, bringing her own vision and focus to these songs whilst working with a variety of producers, writers and mixers to create what is without doubt her finest record; unpredictable, creative, inventive, exciting and hugely accessible.

Working with the likes of Seiji, Andy Cato (Groove Armada), Jimmy Douglass, Ill Factor, Parrot & Dean and Richard X, Róisín has brought her love of the dance floor right to the very heart of the album. 'Overpowered' is the place where pop meets dance and gives birth to a glitter-drenched masterpiece. This is one of the albums of the year - a breathtaking modern classic.

1. Overpowered

2. You Know Me Better

3. Checkin' On Me

4. Let Me Know

5. Movie Star

6. Primitive

7. Footprints

8. Dear Miami

9. Cry Baby

10. Tell Everybody

11. Scarlet Ribbons

12. Body Language

13. Parallel Lives


Róisín Murphy is originally from Arklow, a small town on the East coast of Ireland, and was raised there until she and her family later moved to Manchester. At 15, when her parents returned to Ireland, Róisín decided to go it alone in the UK and her musical career began in a Sheffield club upon meeting one Mr Mark Brydon several years later. Their personal and professional relationship flourished and the duo went on to create four acclaimed studio albums as Moloko : 'Do You Like My Tight Sweater?' (1995), 'I Am Not A Doctor' (1998),'Things To Make & Do' (2000) and 'Statues' (2003).

Moloko Website

Moloko Fansite

After 11yrs of writing, producing and touring as part of Moloko, Róisín began work on a solo project with electronica producer Matthew Herbert. 'Ruby Blue' was completed and released in Summer 2005 on the Echo label and reached the States in 2006 following appearances on the 'Grey's Anatomy' and 'So You Think You Can Dance' soundtracks.

See also:


'Ruby Blue' & 'Sequins' artwork by Simon Henwood.
0.02 follow us on Twitter      Contact      Privacy Policy      Terms of Service
Copyright © BANDMINE // All Right Reserved
Return to top