The Bad Plus Announce New Self-Titled Album

Published: May 20, 2022
As originally published by Allie Gregory on Exclaim!

Long-running jazz troupe the Bad Plus have revealed details of their forthcoming self-titled 15th studio record, which is due for arrival on September 30 via Edition Records. It's the first from the band since the addition of guitarist Ben Monder and saxophonist Chris Speed, and sees the group "reinventing" themselves as they enter their 21st year of operating.

"Evolution is necessary for life and creativity," founding drummer and bassist Dave King and Reid Anderson said in a release. "We've evolved, but we're still the Bad Plus."

The new lineup began rehearsals in 2021, going through Anderson and King's old compositions and "emerging with a singular group sound that retains all of the Bad Plus's vaunted adventurousness while simultaneously setting them on a new pathway of genre-agonistic musical exploration." The project was later brought together with engineer Brett Bullion.

King added: "We feel like we've pulled off a magic trick, changing the lineup from a trio to a quartet with guitar and saxophone that still sounds coherent as the Bad Plus. Having two main composers was our greatest card to play. Our language remains, and that's the magic."

The quartet's self-titled album is previewed today by lead single "Motivations II." Listen to that below, where you can also find the album's tracklisting.

The Bad Plus:

1. Motivations II
2. Sun Wall
3. Not Even Close to Far Off
4. You Won't See Me Before I Come Back
5. Sick Fire
6. Stygian Pools
7. In The Bright Future
8. The Dandy
Pop / Top 40 / General
follow us on Twitter      Contact      Privacy Policy      Terms of Service
Copyright © BANDMINE // All Right Reserved
Return to top