Fu Manchu

San Clemente, California, US
Artist / Band / Musician
Century Media / Liquor and Poker
1. Bionic Astronautics
2. Steel.Beast.Defeated
3. Against the Ground
4. Webfoot Witch Hat
5. El Busta
6. Signs of Infinite Power
7. Eyes x 10
8. Gargantuan March
9. Take It Away
10. One Step Too Far

FU MANCHU will have a special tour-only 7" record available for fans.
Strictly limited to 1,000 copies, the 7" vinyl will contain the brand new single "Bionic Astronautics" b/w a cover of the early 80's punk band JFAs "Beach Blanket Bongout".
This 7" will be the second release on the band's own At The Dojo Records.

Originally formed in 1985 as a Black Flag-influenced hardcore punk band called Virulence, FU MANCHU has since become one of hard rock’s most celebrated names. The band released its first single “Kept Between Trees” in 1990 and in the years following, helped give rise to a celebrated style of heavy music tagged “stoner rock” alongside peers such as Kyuss, Monster Magnet and Sleep. Since its inception, the quartet has built itself a fanatical army of loyal enthusiasts all drawn to the group’s ridiculously catchy, unpretentious music, guitar-driven sound and carefree lyrics centered on "old muscle cars, choppers, vans, skateboarding and science fiction”. The electrifying group will drop its new album Signs of Infinite Power this October via Century Media Records. If life is a highway, FU MANCHU is its soundtrack. While FU MANCHU’s music has been alternately described as stoner rock, surf-punk and desert rock, the truth is that it’s all of the above. Over the last dozen years, the Southern California quartet has perfected the art of the riff, mastered the depth of the groove and sharpened the edge of the hook.
Recorded at Maple Studios in Santa Ana, California by the band and producer Sergio Chavez (Motörhead, Helmet) and mixed by Andrew Alekel (Foo Fighters, Danzig), Signs of Infinite Power could well be dubbed “a reawakening” of FU MANCHU as the record delivers monstrous doses of the group’s punk energy, hard rock drive and psychedelic crunch in spades. From the instant the album’s lead track “Bionic Astronautics” soars from the speakers, it is undeniably evident that FU MANCHU is as primed and hungry as ever before. The record holds the sound of a band rocking purely for the sheer joy of rocking; amps cranked to 11 and revved to maximum overdrive.
Although FU MANCHU’s alumni include such decorated names as Brant Bjork (Kyuss, Queens of the Stone Age), the group’s lineup has been rock-solid since the addition of drummer Scott Reeder seven years ago, while Hill has now been performing alongside guitarist Bob Balch and bassist Brad Davis for 12 years. If you’re craving a fix of unpretentious, classic hard rock in its most timeless form, look no further than FU MANCHU, whose music the L.A. Weekly once called “as purely Californian as anything Brian Wilson (Beach Boy’s) ever recorded.” England’s NME did that one better, saying that “the secret of FU MANCHU’s sick genius is that they’re writing the soundtrack for the ultimate, neverending, coast-to-coast, psychotic American rock n’ roll road movie.”
“We’re stoked to unleash “Signs of Infinite Power,” states FU MANCHU front man / guitarist Scott Hill. “We can’t believe that we’re going into our twentieth year as a band. The excitement and energy levels that we’re feeling right now are as high as they’ve ever been.” To properly celebrate their 20th anniversary the band is also working on a full European tour in 2010! Until then high doses of Signs Of Infinite Power are highly recommended as this is a unmistakable sonic statement for the infinite power of rock ‘n’ roll!
0.02 follow us on Twitter      Contact      Privacy Policy      Terms of Service
Copyright © BANDMINE // All Right Reserved
Return to top