Franz Liszt's "Orpheus" (for the film A Dionysia, Part 1) - Video
DESCRIPTION:
This video is a music video for Franz Liszt's symphonic poem "Orpheus", conducted by Michael Halász and performed by the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra. On the left side of the screen are images of the paintings below. On the right side of the screen are passages from Rainer Maria Rilke's poetry "Duino Elegies", and Friedrich Hölderlin's poem "Hyperion's Song of Fate".

The video is Part 1 of the film "A Dionysia": http://www.adionysia.com

This version of the video plays the full piece of music. There is another version of the video with a narrator speaking the text ( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j1BjLwoX07M&list=PLKahZw6H6bBi8lKcReAF1c5vdLiAkUNtu&index=1 ).



MUSIC:

Liszt, Franz. "Orpheus, S98." Liszt: Symphonic Poems. Perf. New Zealand Symphony Orchestra. Cond. Michael Halász. Naxos, 1997. CD.



LITERATURE:

Rilke, Rainer Maria.  Duino Elegies.  Trans. A.S. Kline.  Poetry in Translation, 2004.  Web.  Accessed 6 Jan. 2015.  ( http://www.poetryintranslation.com/PITBR/German/Rilke.htm ).

Hölderlin, Friedrich.  "Hyperion's Song of Fate."  The German Classics of the Nineteenth and Twentieth Centuries: Masterpieces of German Literature Translated into English.  Vol. 4.  Trans. Charles Wharton Stork.  1914.  Project Gutenburg, 2004.  Web.  Accessed 6 Jan. 2015.  ( http://www.gutenberg.org/ebooks/12060 ).



PAINTINGS:

Munch, Edvard.  The Sun.  1916.  ( http://www.wikiart.org/en/edvard-munch/the-sun-1916 ).
 
Monet, Claude.  The Garden at Giverny.  1924.  ( http://www.wikiart.org/en/claude-monet/the-garden-at-giverny-1924 ).

Monet, Claude. The Entrance to Giverny under the Snow. 1885. ( http://www.wikiart.org/en/claude-monet/the-entrance-to-giverny-under-the-snow ).

Marc, Franz. Deer in the Forest II. 1912. ( http://www.wikiart.org/en/franz-marc/deer-in-the-forest-ii-1912 ).

Filonov, Pavel.  Formula of the Cosmos.  1919.  ( http://www.wikiart.org/en/pavel-filonov/formula-of-the-cosmos-1919 ).

Monet, Claude.  House of Parliament Sun.  ( http://www.wikiart.org/en/claude-monet/house-of-parliament-sun ).

Marc, Franz.  The Fox.  1913.  ( http://www.wikiart.org/en/franz-marc/the-fox-1913 ).

Marc, Franz.  Blue Horse I.  1911.  ( http://www.wikiart.org/en/franz-marc/blue-horse-i-1911 ).

Stuck, Franz.  Orpheus.  1891.  ( http://www.wikiart.org/en/franz-stuck/orpheus-1891 ).
follow us on Twitter      Contact Us      Privacy Policy      RETURN TO TOP
Copyright © BANDMINE // All Right Reserved